top of page

Dan Carter hangs up his Togs

Last week, All Black Flyhalf Dan Carter announced his retirement from all rugby at the age of 38.

Announces his retirement

The player has had an illustrious career, winning almost every trophy on offer in rugby union. He has won 2

Rugby World Cups, 4 Super Rugby titles, 2 Top14 titles, 1 Japan Top League title, 1 series win over the

British and Irish Lions and he has won World Rugby player of the year 3 times. One would be hard

pressed to find a more decorated player than him.

The player who currently holds the World Rugby record for most points (1598) started his international

career way back in 2003 and amassed 112 test caps for the All Blacks. His performance against the

British and Irish Lions in 2005 wherein he scored 33 points (2 tries, 5 penalties, 4 conversions) was

labelled the best performance by a player in the modern era. In the same year he won Player of the

year, being the first New Zealander to do so.

Carter was a class player from debut to retirement as his deft touches on the ball and his precision boot

helped to marshal every team he took the helm for. Notably he has never lost a Bledisloe Cup trophy

since his debut and the Aussies will surely be happy to see the back of him.

Whilst there is no doubt that Carter holds or has held almost every accolade and record, rugby has to

offer, he has also been a great servant of the game. Offering coaching to younger Flyhalf’s and his

involvement with Otere Black and Beauden Barrett at the Blues clearly paid off in 2020 as the Blues had

a stellar season.

The All Black legend will forever be remembered for some incredible performances, but Springbok fans

will also fondly recall the day Bismarck Du Plessis got his hands on the legendary 10, who even referee

Romain Poite thought untouchable.

On his retirement Carter detailed the 5 toughest opponents he has ever played and it will delight South

African fans to know the Schalk Burger featured prominently alongside stars such as Brian O’Driscoll,

Paul O’Connell, Jonah Lomu, and Jonny Wilkinson.

Cheers to a legend of the game we love.

2 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page