top of page

TRC: Boks name side for Ellis Park

Updated: Aug 11, 2022

The Springboks would have spent Saturday night celebrating a powerful victory over the All Blacks in Mbombela, but their work is only half way there. They face a return fixture against their biggest rivals in Joburg this weekend and know full well that they will be able to truly celebrate should they achieve the double, something that hasn't happened since 2009.

The return clash promises to be even bigger as a sold out Ellis Park Stadium awaits with some 63 000 fans waiting to see their side in action. The turn out at all tests this year has been excellent so far, but there will always be something special about facing the All Blacks here. A sold out stadium only adds to the occasion and fans will be hoping to see another victory, adding to the last on these grounds in 2014.

Kurt-Lee Arendse was banned for 4 weeks after his aerial challenge on Beauden Barrett late in the test and won't be available for selection as a result. With Cheslin still out due to the fractured jaw he sustained against Wales, a change at 14 was always on the cards. Faf de Klerk's availability was also a concern after he suffered a blow to the head in the first minute of the game and had to undergo the return to play protocols in place by World Rugby.

Jacques Nienaber and the whole side will know that a victory here will set them up nicely to challenge for the title in the Rugby Championship as they are set to face Australia at home in back to back fixtures in the coming weeks. Here is your team for the weekend:

  1. Ox Nche

  2. Joseph Dweba (replaced Bongi Mbonambi due to injury)

  3. Frans Malherbe

  4. Eben Etzebeth

  5. Lood de Jager

  6. Siya Kolisi (c)

  7. Pieter-Steph du Toit

  8. Duane Vermeulen

  9. Jaden Hendrikse

  10. Handre Pollard

  11. Makazole Mapimpi

  12. Damian De Allende

  13. Lukhanyo Am

  14. Jessie Kriel

  15. Damian Willemse

  16. Malcolm Marx

  17. Steven Kitshoff

  18. Vincent Koch

  19. Franco Mostert

  20. Jasper Wiese

  21. Kwagga Smith

  22. Herschel Jantjies

  23. Willie Le Roux

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page