top of page

TRC: Springboks name side to face All Blacks

Updated: Aug 3, 2022

It has been a long four years since the Springboks last faced the All Blacks at home. Now we are just days away from the kick-off of the 2022 edition of the Rugby Championship and staring down the barrel of back to back tests against our biggest rivals. We start this weekend in Mbombela in what will be a massive occasion for the small town, with accommodation having dried up already in May.

The Springboks enjoyed a short break after their series win against Wales before regathering again to prepare for the tournament. There were some personnel changes in the broader squad as Frans Steyn and Duane Vermeulen's return saw the release of Aphelele Fassi and Marcell Coetzee to their home unions to prepare for the URC. A fractured jaw also saw Cheslin Kolbe missing out as he recovers. The question for today however was, would their be any changes to the match 23 that got the job done down in Cape Town?

It is a big occasion for a big player too as Malcolm Marx is set to earn his 50th cap and you can bet the All Blacks will feel every single one of the 50 or so minutes he gets on the pitch. A hugely physical player, reaching such a milestone is testament to the talent he brings to the Green & Gold.

Head Coach Jacques Nienaber knows he has his work cut out for him as the Boks prepare to face a very wounded New Zealand side and will be doing everything possible to ensure that they aren't on the receiving end of that backlash. Whilst at least one change was injury enforced, here is the side that will do battle against the Kiwis this weekend:

  1. Trevor Nyakane

  2. Malcolm Marx

  3. Frans Malherbe

  4. Eben Etzebeth

  5. Lood de Jager

  6. Siya Kolisi (c)

  7. Pieter-Steph Du Toit

  8. Jasper Wiese

  9. Faf De Klerk

  10. Handre Pollard

  11. Makazole Mapimpi

  12. Damian De Allende

  13. Lukhanyo Am

  14. Kurt-Lee Arendse

  15. Damian Willemse

  16. Bongi Mbonambi

  17. Steven Kitshoff

  18. Vincent Koch

  19. Salmaan Moerat

  20. Franco Mostert

  21. Kwagga Smith

  22. Jaden Hendrikse

  23. Willie Le Roux

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page